Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SUNYAC Men's Swimming and Diving Yearly Awards Announced

SUNYAC Men's Swimming and Diving Yearly Awards Announced

CORTLAND, N.Y. - The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) is proud to present the winners for the annual Men's Swimming and Diving Swimmer, Diver and Rookie of the Year awards. The awards were voted on by the coaches within the conference.

Swimmer of the Year: Cooper Knapp, New Paltz

Knapp had an impressive sophomore season, which ended in a 200 butterfly Division III national championship win. Knapp appeared on the SUNYAC athlete of the week list multiple times this year and was a huge part of New Paltz's success in the pool. Knapp also won the SUNYAC title in the 200 butterfly, breaking both the conference and meet records at the SUNYAC Championships.

Diver of the Year: Sam Randall, Geneseo

The senior diver who has been featured as the SUNYAC Athlete of the Week multiple times this season has been named SUNYAC Diver of the Year. Randall ended his Geneseo career with a Division III national championship in the 1-meter dive as well as a sixth place finish in the 3-meter dive. At the SUNYAC championships, Randall was named Outstanding Diver of the Meet after winning both dives to help the Geneseo men win its 25th title.

Rookie of the Year: Brandon Amthor, Brockport

The freshman swimmer had an impressive first season for Brockport, winning the 100 meter freestyle at the SUNYAC Championships with a time of 45.65. Amthor also finished second in the 50 and 200 meter freestyle. Expect to see Amthor on the SUNYAC Athlete of the Week list in the coming years as he continues his career at Brockport.

2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat
September 19, 2017 2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat