Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Geneseo wins 2018 SUNYAC men's ice hockey title

Geneseo wins 2018 SUNYAC men's ice hockey title

GENESEO, N.Y. - Geneseo defeated Fredonia, 7-1, to win its fifth overall State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) men's ice hockey championship Saturday night at the Wilson Ice Arena. With the win, the Knights earn an automatic bid into the 2018 NCAA DIII ice hockey tournament.

Geneseo took a 4-1 lead in the first period with goals from Mitch Ferguson, David Szmyd, Tanner Salsberry and Joe Serpico. Sam Wilbur scored the lone goal for the Devils. In the second period the Knights scored two more goals within eight minutes of each other coming from Pat Condon and Tyson Empey to make it 6-1. Condon scored his second goal of the game for the Knights in the third period. Devin McDonald had 27 saves for Geneseo in goal.

Elite 20

The SUNYAC Elite 20, is an award modeled after the NCAA Elite 90 program, which recognizes the true essence of the student-athlete by honoring the individual who has reached the pinnacle of competition at the conference championship level in his or her sport, while also achieving the highest academic standard among his or her peers. Fredonia's Mike Freeman, a junior public relations major, was honored with this award at the championship.

All-Tournament Team
MVP - David Szmyd, F, Geneseo
Mitch Ferguson, D, Geneseo
Devin McDonald, G, Geneseo
Anthony Marra, F, Geneseo
Jacob Haynes, F, Fredonia
Oskar Gerhardson, D, Fredonia


2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat
September 19, 2017 2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat