Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

SUNYAC announces 2018 men's lacrosse awards

SUNYAC announces 2018 men's lacrosse awards

CORTLAND, NY - The State University of New York Athletic Conference (SUNYAC) is excited to announce the 2018 men's lacrosse Offensive, Defensive, Rookie, and Coach of the Year awards as well as the 2018 All-Conference teams. These awards were nominated and voted on by conference coaches.

Offensive Player of the Year - Ryan Hubbard, Plattsburgh

Hubbard, a senior attack from Aquebogue was an offensive force for Plattsburgh this year totaling 51 points with 44 goals, 7 assists. The business administration major is no stranger to being a SUNYAC Player of the Year as he was named the 2017 Player of the Year as well as the 2017 SUNYAC Tournament MVP. This year in the SUNYAC finals against the top seeded Red Dragons, Hubbard led th Cardinals on offense with five goals.  

Defensive Player of the Year - Dallas Meyers, Brockport

Meyers, a senior goalie from Elma was stellar in net this year boasting a 6.71 goals against average which lead Brockport to a successful season entering the SUNYAC tournament as the third seed. He also made a total of 158 saves and posted a .627 save percentage. Meyers' play always kept the Golden Eagles in games, which shows how much his presence meant to the team throughout the season. In Brockport's semifinal action against the second seeded Plattsburgh Cardinals, he did just that only giving up 6 goals and racking up 16 saves. With his outstanding play throughout the SUNYAC tournament, Meyers was named to the All-Tournament team. 



Rookie of the Year - Kevin O'Donnell, Oswego

The freshman goalie from Cleveland had a breakout season for the Lakers where he played over 800 minutes, posted a 7.86 goals against average, and a .570 save percentage. O'Donnell's outstanding play in net helped the Lakers earn the fourth seed going into the SUNYAC tournament, where they played a hard fought game against the top seeded Cortland Red Dragons. In the 13-10 loss, the freshman played all 60 minutes. He made 15 saves to bring his save percentage to .536. 




Paul Rose Coach of the Year - Steve Beville, Cortland

Beville, in his 12th season as head coach for the Red Dragons, helped lead his team to its 26th overeall SUNYAC title defeating the 2017 champions, Plattsburgh, 22-12. With the win, the Red Dragons improved their record to 12-6 on the season and earned an automatic berth into the NCAA Division III playoffs. Beville's overall record for Cortland is now a dominating 201-42. He earned his 200th career victory with the Red Dragons during their SUNYAC semifinals win against Oswego. 




2018 Men's Lacrosse All-Conference Teams (PDF)

First Team
Name School  Position Year Hometown / High School
Terrence Haggerty Cortland Attack Jr. Centerport, N.Y. / Harborfields
Ryan Hubbard Plattsburgh Attack Sr. Aquebogue, N.Y. / Riverhead
Eric Soderquist Potsdam Attack Sr. Watertown, N.Y. / Watertown
Josh Huiatt Potsdam Offensive Midfielder So. Lisbon, N.Y. / Hugh C. Williams
Billy Moller Plattsburgh Offensive Midfielder Sr. Greenlawn, N.Y. / Harborfields
Joey Panariello Cortland Offensive Midfielder Jr. Islip, N.Y. / Islip
Jack Crowley Geneseo Defender Jr.  Greenlawn, N.Y. / Harborfields
Steven Gurin Brockport Defender Sr. Dix Hills, N.Y. / Half Hallow Hills West
Teddy Phillips Oswego Defender Sr. Cortland, N.Y. / Cortland
Trevor Pratt Cortland Long Stick Sr. Denver, CO / Colorado Academy
Justin Siracusa Cortland Short Stick Sr. Sayville, N.Y. / Sayville
Michael Caternolo Brockport Face-Off Specialist Sr. North Chili, N.Y. / Churchville
Dallas Meyers Brockport Goalie Sr. Elma, N.Y. / Iroquois
Second Team
Name School  Position Year  Hometown / High School
Bobby Emerson Oswego Attack Jr.  Lake Grove, N.Y. / Centereach
Thomas McNaney Cortland Attack Sr. Marcellus, N.Y. / Marcellus
Stephen Panno Oneonta Attack Jr.  Holtsville, N.Y. / Sachem East
Devin Phelps Cortland Attack Gr. Chittenango, N.Y. / Chittenango
Andrew Cummings Geneseo Offensive Midfielder Sr. Manlius, N.Y. / Fayetteville-Manlius
Kevin Litchauer Plattsburgh Offensive Midfielder So. Poughkeepsie, N.Y. / Arlington
Tim Schof Oswego Offensive Midfielder So. Montgomery, N.Y. / Pine Bush
Rob Free Cortland Defender Fr. Port Jefferson Station / Comsewogue
Sean Hayes Plattsburgh Defender Sr. Levittown, N.Y. / Division Avenue
Chris Rupp Plattsburgh Defender Jr. Sayville, N.Y. / Sayville
Kyle Smith Plattsburgh Long Stick So. Holbrook, N.Y. / Sachem East
Adam Burlew Oswego Short Stick Sr. Rockland, N.Y. / North Rockland
Brad Johnston Plattsburgh Short Stick Sr. Altamont, N.Y. / Guilderland
Travis Mauro Plattsburgh Face-Off Specialist Sr. Northport, N.Y. / Northport
Tyler Wetzel Geneseo Goalie So. Fairport, N.Y. / Fairport
Honorable Mention
Name School  Position Year  Hometown / High School
Colby Chapman Potsdam Long Stick Jr. Johnson City, N.Y. / Johnson City
Kyle O'Connor Oswego Face-Off Specialist So.  Dexter, N.Y. / General Brown


2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat
September 19, 2017 2017 Fall SUNYAC SAAC Retreat